The Pierians Incorporated

           Founded in 1958 . National Office Established in 1982

Columbia, Maryland Chapter

Founded 1983

The Columbia, Maryland Chapter was founded in May 15, 1983.  In January of that year, four Columbia women interested in the arts met with the National President, National Financial Secretary, and Chapter Establishment Coordinator at Clyde's restaurant in Columbia, Maryland. The group met to learn more of The Pierians. Dr. Pearl Brackett, National Establishment Coordinator, told of the beginnings of the organization. Immediately, the four Columbia women decided to form an interest group, to organize, and to prepare for chartering of a chapter of The Pierians, Incorporated in Columbia.  In April, the interest group presented a display of art work from their private collections. This "home grown" exhibit ranged from African bead creations to needlepoint; from books on all elements of the arts to oil painting; from pen and ink drawings to South American carved wood objects to fine sculpture. The home of Celonia B. Walden became the gallery for the evening.


Early in May, having completed all requirements of an interest group, fourteen members were installed as chapter members of the Columbia Pierians. Their program for the first year included sponsorship of a major exhibit of art created by the students of Morgan State University and The Maryland Institute of Art, a discussion of The Color Purple by Alice Walker, a review of Blacks in the theatre highlighting the contribution of Anita Bush.  The program for the 1984-1986 period included a kaleidoscope of artistic images: A film fest; a trip to the Banneker-Douglas Museum in Annapolis; concerts at The Meyerhoff Hall in Baltimore; the Kennedy Center; art shows and artistic excursions and discussions. In fact the theme was...


The Pierian Kaleidoscope!!!

The charter members of the Columbia Chapter are:  Carol Ball, Mary Bracey, Roberta Briscoe, Hazel Braxton, Irene Closson, Frenzela Credle, Janice Doyle, Sylvia Cooke Martin, Donna Rice, Pinnie Ross, Sandra Smith, Sylvia Stanford, Harriett Tootle, Celonia Walden and Vera Wilson.  These women saw the vision and set the course....all for the love of art!



                                                          Chapter Officers 2019-2020


Annette Baker, President

Sonja Blake, Vice President

Mary Bracey, Recording Secretary

Hazel Rayford, Corresponding Secretary

Odessa Hanes, Financial Secretary

Jacqueline Antoine, Treasurer

DeLace Burch, Parliamentarian

Louise Cole, Historian


Grayce Simmons, Immediate Past President


Need to contact us? Send email to: